l i l e p h y t e


February 8th, 12:21 | Also, my mom totally approves of my jell-o snackage

Yeah, I drive naked through the park
And run the stop sign in the dark
Stand in the street, yell out my heart
To make, to make you love me

Well, I'm not normally one to break out the Liz Phair (although I do like a couple of the tracks off Exile in Guyville) but I woke up this morning and that song was just stuck in my head.

Feeling a little weird and teetering-on-the-edge-y, and I seem to be making up for last week's slackitude (had to preserve energy: the meatsack was fighting off a cold or some such invasion) by cramming as many Suzie Homemaker tasks as possible into my (work)day. Thus far I have...

    -> done a load of laundry
    -> thrown the second load into the dryer
    -> cleaned up the sty that was the kitchen so I could
    -> start up a loaf of hippie bread (but I was foiled due to lack of hippie supplies)
    -> cleaned my parents' bathroom
    -> cleaned my bathroom; everything but the bathtub, because I'm going to
    -> wash my hair

...and I'm still at work, people. Seriously.

I don't really know what's going on in my head these past couple days (this past week? this month??). I feel disjointed and drifty, like a balloon that's just wandering up into the sky because no one wanted to hang on to it anymore. I suppose at some point, I'll run out of steam and fall back into normality. That or I'll hit the troposphere, freeze, explode, and plummet back to the people in my life in little flaming shards.

Maybe they should start licensing metaphor use. Seriously, people could get hurt with that shit.

Random newsflash: I love my mom for many reasons, but the one I feel like rambling about concerns jell-o.

One of the days last week when I was feeling snuffly and muzzy, I made myself some mango jell-o (mostly to cheer myself up) but kind of forgot about it while it was in the fridge congealing. My mom got home to watch me in my sniffly state as I shuffled over to the fridge to get some water, then changed my mind when I remembered the jell-o.

This decision prompted her to chide me -- why? Not because I decided to go with the sugar-laden mango-flavoured snack instead of choosing The Path of Rehydration, no, no. My mom found it silly that I had gone to the trouble that morning of making myself jell-o, but had completely forgotten about it till late in the evening. And why was this mock-worthy? Because I was sick and didn't I know? Jell-o has healing properties, yo. My mom approves of jell-o on the basis of its high-gelatin, mostly-made-of-water qualities. Apparently all the sugar in there can't offset the goodness of having gelatin.

(As a note, this isn't entirely without basis. If you've ever been in one of those Chinese natural food stores, you can see they sell these big, cloud-looking sheets, that are kind of off-white-ish in colour, and honestly look like someone took a small cloud and deep-fried it. They're fish bellies, and much sought out (much like sea cucumber) because of their high gelatin content. Eating the gelatin is supposed to help soothe any kind of joint or bone issues.)

Anyway, I was just thinking that I'm probably one of the few people in the world who can honestly say that her mom totally approves of her eating jell-o and I mean, really? How many people can say that?


Last book read:


( prev ++ 0 comment/s ++ next )



prev ++ next
(or "today"'s)



Last we checked,
lilephyte was...

...archived
...friendly
...factoidey
...profiled
...into notes



++ "recent" ++
Wednesday, January 21st, 2009
January 24th
December 17th
December 16th
November 14th


ResolutionWatch 2007
Photos (200): 130
Kitty Photos (30): 40
Scrapbook (20): 1
Books (just for fun): 16


+DiaryLand+

:)