l i l e p h y t e


June 13th, 09:11 | Not quite "home"... yet

One thing that rocks the casbah about my new place? Because we're so high up, when there's rainstorms (like this morning's), it's loud and dramatic, and you're seriously surrounded by the rain. I can't wait till night sometime when there's lightning.

I am so easily amused.

Had a weird dream last night. [skip dream re-cap] (Incidentally, I'm completely famished. So if my entry suddenly changes voice, or suffers a major break in cohesion (like worse than usual) it's because I left to go buy breakfast.) Anyway, the dream seemed to be a type of high school reunion thing. Everyone there was in our old uniforms (except me) and we were in this tent-like structure outside. (Not like a circus tent, more like those white, window-ed frou-frou lawn tents, but with sturdier "walls".) For some reason I was changing out of moving clothes/sweats into a formal dress, when NewCoworker walked in and sat down and started talking to me. I left briefly, came back in and RecentEx had sat down. Since they share the same first name, I introduced them and was all laughing and stuff, then disappeared again. So did RecentEx. I came back in, NewCoworker and I were sitting on the floor. More talking. At which point I leaned forward and kissed him. Incredibly bland kiss. At that point I started panicking, wondering what the fuck I was doing, and how I was going to explain all this to The Boy. I'd come to the conclusion that I would just tell him and hope for the best, when everything went melty, NewCoworker disappeared, and I semi-realized it wasn't real. Shortly thereafter, I woke up. Am now pondering w-exactly-tf that was about. Hmm.

Right. So the new place. Despite my initial disappointment with it, when I first saw it a week ago, I really like it now. I believe on moving day, my exact words were "Hmm. I like this place a lot better with furniture in." And it's true. It looks way bigger, and there's lots more space than I thought there would be. It's quite nice. Airy. High ceilings rock my world.

But that's quite enough of that. This morning, mid-shower I was racked with guilt over what to tell the Boy about my dream. I mean, unlike my sister who is rigidly self-controlled with her crushes, even in her dreams, I seem to be throwing myself at guys who a) I'm not interested in and b) have girlfriends in my own. I'm apparently quite the hussy, subconsciously. This is probably one of those things I might mention in passing one time when we're drunk, or while he's watching hockey or something. Hmm. I'm taking this way too seriously.

I'm miffed at the fact that the U is fucking with my degree. Despite having the form in my hand from both faculty departments accepting me into my fourth-year honours, the registrar remains adamant that the biochem folks shunned me. Grrr, I say. Grr.

(I realize this is merely a petty problem, and nothing like concerns in the real world. I'm vastly aware of how little my life resembles reality in any way. I was actually thinking to myself yesterday that my life is great. For all that I'm frustrated and stressed out about my last year, worried about workloads, and finishing on time, and my relationship all long-distance-like with the Boy, my life is great. Really great. I am happy, lucky, loved, nearly done my school, healthy, and I bake awesome biscotti. If I could make a wish, I could of course think of stuff I'd want: to live in Ottawa with the boy while going to medschool there, to find a way to make my parents relax and not miss me so much, to actually find time for my friends for crying out loud. Whatever. But in reality? I love my life. So shut up about how my problems are petty and minor. I know they are. ;) I'm just ranty.)

Umm, right. Not quite sure where that came from. But. Things are good. We're wading through the boxes, and I hope to be all done unpacking by the weekend. (Hopefully I'll actually have my furniture in its final configuration then too, along with pookie all set up and good to go. Also curtains. I'm tired of changing in the bathroom damnit.) Oh, one cool thing about living in an apartment building is totally watching the neighbours. There's a building facing ours, and two floors down in the corner apartment is this guy with a tv that I swear must be eight feet wide. That puppy just lights up the night. Whew. Umm, but a couple floors down from that, last night, there was this woman chasing a man (her husband, I assume?) around their living room with a cushion. Okay, it wasn't earth-shattering or anything, but I thought it was funny okay?

I kinda wonder what I looked like, though, wandering around my room in sleepwear, unpacking boxes and gesticulating whilst on the phone with the Boy. Hmm. I should get to know my neighbours. ^_^ We could throw floor parties! (...yeah right.)


Last book read:


( prev ++ 0 comment/s ++ next )



prev ++ next
(or "today"'s)



Last we checked,
lilephyte was...

...archived
...friendly
...factoidey
...profiled
...into notes



++ "recent" ++
Wednesday, January 21st, 2009
January 24th
December 17th
December 16th
November 14th


ResolutionWatch 2007
Photos (200): 130
Kitty Photos (30): 40
Scrapbook (20): 1
Books (just for fun): 16


+DiaryLand+

:)