l i l e p h y t e


September 4th, 18:26 | Introducing...

Revisited post-finishing school, I feel the need to update this so that it actually has helpful information. I'm not really sure why but... well, these people are important. They probably deserve an introduction of some sort, neh? After all they are, not the cast -- these people don't merely populate my life, they're what make it work -- but the crew. (Theatrically far more important, and underappreciated, I find.)

Friends from highschool

My sister (or "chan"). First, we're not related. She's my best friend, and even though we look nothing alike, a hairdresser did actually once think we were sisters. We went to different universities (she was at UoT, I was at Queen's) and because I suck at the long-distance thing (yet, for some reason, can't seem to avoid it when dating; hmm) it made for five years of sparse communication. For awhile they just died, and I'm still kinda worried about things, but that doesn't change the fact that she's my best friend. No one else understands me intuitively like she does, and we have way too much history (and dirt) on each other to not keep in touch on some level. ;) Way more understanding than most people, especially of my crappy penpal-tude, and way too post-modern for you. She's getting married in a couple years, sn I'm hoping that now that I'm back we can do the girly chattage hangy-out thing of olde. (And no, "chan" isn't her name.)

My brother ("brokitty" or just "kitty"). He's not really related to me either; after all, I'm an only child. We went to the same highschool, and he was the best friend of one of my boyfriends (MathieEx) during my last few years there and to tell the truth, we didn't really become particularly close until that last year, and even then, only in a kind of "I suppose I should get to know you, since we've got someone in common" way. Well, that and programming. This kid is the reason I know any C. Since the breakup though, we're closer. There's a strange rapport that I don't entirely understand. I attribute it to the fact that he's a scorpio. So yeah, that's my brother; he looks out for me when I least expect him to, even all the way from Waterloo.

There's a slew of others, namely MechetyAnne and Linlin, and a few of my exes, but they're more sporadic characters in my stories, I think so... until I feel they really need some back-history, I think I shall skimp on their write-ups.

Friends from university

The Boy (formerly PseudoBrother). Well, as you've no doubt gathered by now, he's no longer the Boy. Nonetheless, I don't really want to rename him. The name just fits. I met him on a mission to protect chan. He was the best friend (at the time) of a guy she was dating back in first year. We started off talking so I could get dirt on chan's new love interest, and just stayed friends. He's got a higher opinion of me than I feel I deserve, and for some reason trusted me almost from the beginning. I'll never understand where his faith in me comes from, but it was nice to know it was there. I'm not sure if he still does (and hey, I wouldn't blame him if he didn't) but I really hope so. He's definitely one of the truest friends I've ever had the good fortune to be blessed with. I don't know where things will take us, but I hope we stay friends. He's camped out in Ottawa, and is pretty much the reason I know any of the Ottawa Boys.

NeighbourBoy, who was so-named during the time of our internship at Workplace. He lived walking distance from my old house, and before that, give doors down from me on campus. He's off doing grad work in the States somewhere, and is a big smarty-pants Apple geek. Most days, I feel quite incompetant compared to his vast g33k l0r3, but he's a sweetheart. He was also on the anime club exec with me both years.

BrotherDan is from my hometown, and was NeighbourBoy's housemate for a bit. I don't think I actually wrote stories about him but... he was essentially ever-present during my last year, and he's like me, in being a fan of the small, stupid gesture to cheer people up. His spontaneous niceness got me through many a day.

RecentEx, became one the summer I started this blog. Over time, we've become friends again (for which I am both happy and very grateful), and I have to say that while I was away for my last year at the university, he was probably the best friend I had in that town. I've never met anyone else who's tastes in movies and jazz matched mine so closely -- normally I would say Stuff in general, but that was until I met...

 

Friends from university... as a don

Ozy in my last year. He's in my major (kinda -- he's actually in the same major as NeighbourBoy) and was also a don. His tastes in food, music, some movies, games, and general outlook/attitude towards things? Eerily clone-like of mine. There are, of course, differences. He's allergic to nuts, thus doesn't have the mad passion for VietThai food that I do. His tastes in music, while more "hip" than my own, are also narrower; he can't get into jazz for example. It goes from there. I don't really know what to say for him. He was metallic as all get out when I first met him. We got closer and worked together crazily much in the last term. And now, he's metallic and seems to be in the process of disappearing. It hurts but... I've kind of had enough of constantly chasing him down. There's a pretty long story behind this, but I'm not about to put it here. Maybe another day.

Tired and lazy to do the rest. Later.


Last book read:


( prev ++ 0 comment/s ++ next )



prev ++ next
(or "today"'s)



Last we checked,
lilephyte was...

...archived
...friendly
...factoidey
...profiled
...into notes



++ "recent" ++
Wednesday, January 21st, 2009
January 24th
December 17th
December 16th
November 14th


ResolutionWatch 2007
Photos (200): 130
Kitty Photos (30): 40
Scrapbook (20): 1
Books (just for fun): 16


+DiaryLand+

:)