l i l e p h y t e


December 21st, 00:08 | resisting the morphine so far...

Well, happy Solstice everyone! I'm home, got in last night, slept amazingly well (can I say it again? I love my bed -- there is nothing in the world like a hard foam mattress) woke up this morning and went in to get my wisdom teeth out. I can't even express to you how scared I was, which is a bit ridiculous, really. Nonetheless, I was. I'm happy to say that the folks at the office were really competent and all that (and they didn't coddle me, which, in retrospect, I'm very grateful for) and so I was in, nervous as all get out, put on nitrous (first time ever!) which made me muzzy and relaxed within like 40 seconds, hooked up to heart rate monitors, one of those pulse things on my fingers, sprayed with topical anaesthetic, IV-ed with demerol/valium and... out like a light. I came to something like 20 minutes later to gauze wads in my mouth and numb lips, the sound of the surgeon (and two other dentists who were watching the procedure) telling me I did very well (whatever the Hell that means -- I was unconscious for crying out loud) and me being all proud that I could get off the chair by myself, only to have the nurse drag me to the recovery room, where I collapsed on the cot, waved at the girl on the other cot, and probably fell asleep again for another ten minutes. Not really sure.

Went home, very drowsy and muzzy. Lots of leaning on walls while waiting for the elevator. I went back to bed for a couple of hours (but not until after writing a note for my parents that said "Call [the Boy] -- [phone number] -- I'm not dead". My dad chatted with him for awhile and asked me questions which I totally don't remember, but the Boy seemed amused by it all. I woke up wandered around a bit, and my parents had bought me orchids (since I was apparently officially an invalid!), changed the gauze, and fell asleep for another two hours. I meant to write Christmas cards later tonight, but haven't really been able to focus, so I mostly watched tv and movies, put away laundry and that kind of thing. Drooling is bad enough, but when you wake up from a nightmare about soccer of all things, with your lips only just waking up, gauze propping your mouth open, and blood all over your pillow, it's really, really not an incentive to go back to sleep. I know, I know, way more graphic than necessary. Sorry.

So then the cool part of my day starts -- my mom made me chicken congee the way I like it!! It's a crazy amount of work to tear the chicken up, and the last time I had it was when I was really, really sick at my grandma's (like ten years ago). So that totally rocked. I had that and mashed potato for dinner. There's enough congee in the fridge to last me like three days. I'm elated.

I stopped bleeding at some point, and some inquisitive poking informs me there's stitches in there. Pretty sore, although I haven't felt the need to take the Tylenol 3. It hurts to open my mouth more than just a little, so my speech is pretty incomprehensible, at the moment. It's going to be fun dropping by Workplace all chipmunk cheeks and not really able to talk. ^_^ We'll see how all that goes next week though.

Wanted to write about today before bed. I'm happy to be home, although stressed out about the number of things apparently scheduled for the holiday. And I still haven't done my goddamn Christmas shopping. Baka. I suspect many people will be getting cookies for the Yule season. *sigh* Tomorrow's goal? Put the tree up (my parents waited for me!), write cards and mail them, see the Boy briefly, before he hits the train to see his folks up north and... that's about it, really? We'll see what else.

Chan's parents are apparently planning a shindig of some sort, which will be nice. I'll see if I can bake some stollen to bring. Pretty tired, miss my music (on pookie) and feel weird and detached now that I'm no longer working in the residence paradigm.

I was thinking that while it was nice to be taken care of... I really miss my independence. And I do have it, even though I have debatable privacy since I live in res. Small example: if I want to wrap my parents' gifts, there isn't really anywhere I can "hide" to do it here. Previously, I could have used the basement, in res I'm 3 hours away. Here? Mehn. Also, since I'm not to drive or operate heavy machinery within 18 hours of being under sedation or if I'm taking T3s, I have to factor in extra subway time for transit anywhere. Bah.

Is it stupid to be thinking about my frosh, and other dons and all that now that I'm home? While I'm at the U, all I can think about are people back home. (Well, and in Waterloo.) So stupid. One day, my whole life will merge into one manageable packet. Wonder what that will be like?

In the meantime, I'm getting over the lack of snow here (there was like two feet at the U!) but also recognizing that it's not like we have a lawn anymore anyway. Tomorrow's Solstice -- the first one when I won't be able to have a real Yule fire. *sigh* Times change, I guess. Happy sleep, everyone, hope you're safe and happy this winter.


Last book read:


( prev ++ 0 comment/s ++ next )



prev ++ next
(or "today"'s)



Last we checked,
lilephyte was...

...archived
...friendly
...factoidey
...profiled
...into notes



++ "recent" ++
Wednesday, January 21st, 2009
January 24th
December 17th
December 16th
November 14th


ResolutionWatch 2007
Photos (200): 130
Kitty Photos (30): 40
Scrapbook (20): 1
Books (just for fun): 16


+DiaryLand+

:)