l i l e p h y t e


August 13th, 16:58 | And another thing!

Random thoughts. Like string ends into a ball. Want to work tonight, be productive, but probably won't. We'll see. More thoughts added later.

Getting my hair cut tonight. Nothing special, just a quick hacking out of the split ends, maybe some light re-layering, re-do my bangs before school dealie. Was thinking of getting more highlights, but I kind of miss monochromatic hair. Was thinking of using the henna chan gave me though. Hmm.

Remembered at the end of Linlin's blog about the meaning of religion the comment that she couldn't talk about it with her relatives in Hong Kong Because She's A Girl. I know how you feel, Lin. Even though (and especially because) I'm in CS, I've never, ever felt that anyone had higher or lower expectations of me due to my girl-itude. Never. But... I'm used to the double standard from my mom's side of the family all the time. Weird how that never clicked in consciously. I just kind of factored it into the way I deal with them. Hmm.

Got an email from my soon-to-be boss (at the new res) informing me that it won't be finished (yay for brand new buildings! baka!) in time for training. Fuckity fuck fuck fuckcakes. They had better have it ready in time for me to bake cookies for my move-in frosh. If they don't, I'm bailing on the training, heading up to Old_Housemate's and borrowing the kitchen. Stupid new residence. *kick*

Feeling daunted on the school front. Seriously worried I won't be able to handle it. I want to be able to graduate all special and stuff, damnit! But. I remember what our dean said on our very first day. Whilst applying for a job, someone asked a Queen's grad if she'd graduated in the top half of her class. She said she was in the half that made the top half possible. They're just meaningless numbers. I need to calm down and just learn to get things right on the first try. Everything will be okay. I'll will it to. I'll find time. I am competant. ...right? Hmm.

It's Debian's birthday on Saturday, y'all. Be nice and send kisses, okay? I think I'm going to stop rambling. Oh. I just learned today; apparently "to ramble" can be as much about aimless meandering as it can be about incoherent babbling. Good to know.

 

Forgot to mention. More of a note to self, really. Need to pick up one of those memory card things (yeah, you totally pictured me saying "doohicky", didn't you? no? I did.) for the camera pre-getting back to the U. Definitely. Also, stock up on the construction paper and sparkles. Anyone out there now thinking I won't make a good don because I happen to like the kindergarten-level arts & crafts crap can suck it.

I haven't used the phrase "suck it" since I was a frosh. Hmm.

Am now back from hairdressers. I like my hair, shockingly. Still planning on henna-fying it at some point though. Also, I am stuffed with dinner.

NewCoworker's gone for the rest of the week. He left this morning. No hug, but he told me that I had everyone's emails and such, so I'd better keep in touch. (More or less.) :) Woohoo! Someone cares! I'm totally planning on spamming the team sometime in my first week with the frosh to tell them what it's like.

So. Full. Ugh.


Last book read:


( prev ++ 0 comment/s ++ next )



prev ++ next
(or "today"'s)



Last we checked,
lilephyte was...

...archived
...friendly
...factoidey
...profiled
...into notes



++ "recent" ++
Wednesday, January 21st, 2009
January 24th
December 17th
December 16th
November 14th


ResolutionWatch 2007
Photos (200): 130
Kitty Photos (30): 40
Scrapbook (20): 1
Books (just for fun): 16


+DiaryLand+

:)