l i l e p h y t e


July 28th, 14:16 | Woohoo! Linux con and slutty girly skirt!

So, since getting back, I've been spammed by the medschools of both Washington in Louisana, and Wisconsin, pimping their schools out based on my MCAT results. Not that I really want to go to the States to study (holy I'd like to get through my schooling without having to sell myself on the streets to pay rent Batman) but it kind of makes me smile to see that. Not that these schools would be making such overtures had they any inkling what my marks were. But still.

In case you're new, or don't care, or have a memory as good as mine (*cough*) I've been away for much of the past week (i.e. since Tuesday) at Nerdapalooza, as PokerFiend so fondly dubbed it this morning while asking how I liked it. It was great fun, I got to hang out with Yuu, and some of his friends, along with some coworkers of the Boy, Boy's best friend from Toronto and his gf were up (well, she came up towards the end of the con) and he was hanging with his posse from Sun (who were a fun bunch, albeit strangely attached to San Francisco) and of course, I got to spend tons tons tons of time hyperglued to the Boy (and playing with his cat). Also, I recognized a bunch of people from Debconf! So cool!

So before I get side-tracked into all the tech-lust and goo that was the con, I feel I need to absolve myself of my incredibly frosh week-like behaviour. Oh yes, there was shame. There was food, and free motherboards being thrown about like so much barely-wanted silicon, and pat� and veggie dips, there was whole wheat bread, and cheese, and wine. Oh yes, there was wine.

You know that song in Rent when everyone's chanting "Wine and beer!"? Yeah, the first night of the con was like that. All wine, all beer, all gourmet snackety foods, no limits. And after a pathetically small number of glasses of wine ("Guys, this Chilean red wine is so good!!") and more bread things smeared with animal fat than I can count, I was happy and giggly and loud. Also, starting to get a bit muzzy. At this point, to many bemused looks (mostly on the faces of the Sun folks, also from the Boy), we left.

The Boy, like the good sport he is, mostly just smiled and put up with my fizziness, and didn't even get mad at me for my near-constant awakeness later that night, most of which was spent throwing up dark pink, which, let me tell you, is disturbing even when you know for sure it's not blood.

I felt better the next morning.

For about two hours.

Then followed leaving the con amid amused and condescending looks from all the geeks who can drink me under the table (read: nigh on all of them), a mid-day nap, and the chase for a walk-in clinic that would explain my 38.8 fever along with pms-cramp-resembling tummy woes.

The doctor's exact words were "...well I don't really know what's wrong with you. But if it hurts -- especially on the right side -- go straight to the ER, because it's probably appendicitis!" Good times. One blood test and peeing in a cup later (I actually managed! First time ever! Woohoo!) I went home, felt better, and hung out watching movies with my baby.

The next day had a definite kind of Walk Of Shame feel to it, and it totally sucks that I missed the IBM banquet, but mehn. I had fun. I'm totally not listening to the Boy the next time he gets all antsy and "you should see a doctor!" unless it's been more than 36 hours, or I have real symptoms of something though. No offense, muffin.

Anyway, after that, life returned to normal. Saturday morning, one of Yuu and Boy's friends drove us all out to Gatineau airport where they were to skydive... had the plane they were to plummet from not been in Toronto for repairs. Saturday night saw the population of the con crammed into a pub with free drinks and snackety food. A much chastened lilephyte steered clear of the wine, although I did start on some mystery cranberry cider thing the waitress recommended. Weird. Also, whisky sour -> my new favourite drink. (Tastes like kool-aid! Limey!) Although it does leave that kind of gooey feeling at the back of your throat. Ugh.

Less headache, no throwing up. Sunday morning noodlin' about the place with the Boy. It's not getting any easier to leave. I guess that's a good thing. Sucks muchly that school will be in soon though; I'm worried about how I'm going to make everything work out. The only thing I can think of is Mad Scheduling Anality, but that won't work so well (will it?) given that I need to be flexible for my frosh. I guess I need to break my work up into things that I can not-focus on (i.e. work on okay despite interruptions), and things that I will need to sequester myself in the library for. Semi-related is a newfound paranoia that over the past 16 months I've forgotten everything I know about programming. I'm very much panicking and tempted to run screaming to my courses and change them all. As we speak, I'm taking deep breaths, blinking and telling myself it'll be alright. My "fun" activity for my training week is to teach myself perl (ack! no, wait! awk! ACK!) and I'm still not done with the medschool apps. Breathe, breathe, breathe.

Somewhere in a sunshiney place in my head is the thought that at least soon when the Boy visits me, he'll be able to snuggle up with me to sleep, not just when I go to see him. Yay for no parents! (Yeesh, am I ever fourteen years old, or what?)

Oh! Totally forgot fun moment from the con! I finally got around to using the gift certificate that my cousin gave me as part of her Girlification Of Lilephyte project, and bought myself this kick-ass skirt. Which I proceeded to change into as we were leaving on Friday. Friday was the day I had my hair in pigtails. So. Standing at the bus stop in a too-short kilty-skirt, with pigtails and running shoes, I was commenting on how all I was missing was a lollipop (although I was getting dirty looks from nearby women anyway) and the Boy burst into song with "Officer I Swear She's 19". Tee hee. Sometimes, it's almost worth all those times I get mistaken for a 12-year-old.

Being back is good. Still on for the Lammas deadline. (Although it's going to be a hectic couple of nights, since I also need to work extra hours to make up for last week.) We'll see how it's going. Still in my "yeah, bring it; I can handle it" mindset, even though I'm nervous as fuck. How have you all been?


Last book read:


( prev ++ 0 comment/s ++ next )



prev ++ next
(or "today"'s)



Last we checked,
lilephyte was...

...archived
...friendly
...factoidey
...profiled
...into notes



++ "recent" ++
Wednesday, January 21st, 2009
January 24th
December 17th
December 16th
November 14th


ResolutionWatch 2007
Photos (200): 130
Kitty Photos (30): 40
Scrapbook (20): 1
Books (just for fun): 16


+DiaryLand+

:)