l i l e p h y t e


June 23rd, 10:54 | Anti-SARS soup -- double plus good!

It is Monday, and I am tired. I'm very happy because although the Boy left last night, I get to see him ridiculously soon again when I head up to Ottawa for the long weekend. Bonus: I get to be in Ottawa for Canada Day! First time ever! Woohoo! Also, my opthamologist appointment which was foiling all my plans has now been rescheduled, admittedly a month from now, but that's still impressive, since normally we have to book them six months in advance. And... I've just realized I rebooked it for the time when I'll be at OLS... in Ottawa. D'oh!

Okay, I just rebooked it. Things are going to be okay. Having finished with my momentary panic, I can get back to details no one cares about. ("And there was much rejoicing... yaaaaaay....")

We hit the Chapter's across the street Friday night to see what was going down for the Potter launch. (This was accompanied by me trying to take a picture of the lineup outside -- there were some pretty good costumes! -- and failing utterly while the Boy rolled his eyes.) Nothing much going on, no free food or speechey things or anything fun, so I walzed past the line to take a picture of the crates of books just as they were hacking open the first one, and we went back home.

Home. I'm starting to think of it as home now, although I still get pangy feelings thinking about the old house. Home. Home, where, prior to our Potter-related outing, my dad and the boy had been dishing politics over scotch. Scotch. They finished the Lagavulin! You know your dad likes your boyfriend when... Heh. He was probably happy to have someone to share it with. My mom and I don't drink much (really, I only do when I have a cold, ahem, you know, that whole "It tastes like burning," thing) so there's that. I was bopping around taking pictures of everything, much to the Boy's amusement. I guess my parents are used to it now. This digital camera? I'm so, so, so, so, so happy to have it. *gleeful*

Saturday we fixed up the den, mostly, I chose curtain material for my room (me! green! I chose green! shocking!) and we made a kick-ass pasta salad. We hit the SARS concert downtown (not bad; Our Lady Peace's set rocked -- I think I'm getting old though, I had actual worries about going deaf during Sum41's performance) and rushed back early (damnit, we missed Avril, boohoo) to go to Jen's bbq that she booked me for two weeks ago. (Her last one was also fun, last summer. And I shall be seeing more of her in Kingston! Assuming I have any time.)

Sunday morning was spent waiting around for the DSL guy to show up and fix up the flaky home connection (which works great now) and redo the shelving/furniture in my room. I'm sure my parents were thrilled to have a strapping young lad around to help them with all that stuff ;) But I'm happy. My chest of drawers is no longer obscuring my view and I can finally unpack for real! :) We then went to the all-day brunch place, came back, more fixing-up and stuff, watched some Family Guy, went swimming, dinner, at a restaurant that served us anti-SARS soup (I'm not kidding) and we drove Boy back to the airport.

It was a pretty sweet weekend. It sucks that our schedules clashed with Chan's, but one of my projects for August is to throw a "come to the island and bring food!" thing for highschool people. Hopefully it'll actually go somewhere. We'll see.

In the meantime, with all the time I'm not spending at home, I need to get my ass in gear with the other summer projects. Now, also on my list is to learn lisp, and make sure I get a reference letter from Workplace. Next up, I'm looking up requirements for medschools in Ontario. Go me! I'm being productive! Woohoo!

(p.s. And no, I didn't forget. Happy summer to everyone!)


Last book read:


( prev ++ 0 comment/s ++ next )



prev ++ next
(or "today"'s)



Last we checked,
lilephyte was...

...archived
...friendly
...factoidey
...profiled
...into notes



++ "recent" ++
Wednesday, January 21st, 2009
January 24th
December 17th
December 16th
November 14th


ResolutionWatch 2007
Photos (200): 130
Kitty Photos (30): 40
Scrapbook (20): 1
Books (just for fun): 16


+DiaryLand+

:)