l i l e p h y t e


April 18th, 15:37 | A kickline of glucose, caffeine and cholesterol molecules

Taking a quick break from reading about how fungi get it on. (Yes, I know, I just have it made for teaching highschool bio, don't I? You haven't even heard my cats-dog-frisbee analogy for how TLC works. Heh.) I rediscovered my deep-deep love of molecule kits this morning when, in an effort to distract myself from studying, I did the oh-so-useful crafting of a kickline made up of glucose, caffeine and cholesterol molecules. Never let it be said that organic chem folks never have any fun. Oh hush up.

I'm actually finding all this bio/taxonomy stuff pretty interesting. I mean, everything I've always done was other completely theoretical/lab-based (in the form of pure organic chem) or else, completely human-centric processes (biochem) which, while interesting, mean I miss out on the cool stuff that go on in other organisms. If I thought I had time, I'd totally take Biol200 next year. Oh well. Maybe I'll buy an older version of the text for cheap somewhere and flip through sometime. I'd probably miss my gooshy chemicals after a couple weeks anyway.

The Boy's back at home for Easter weekend in the wilds of Northern Ontario, and probably elated that his team kicked New York's sorry ass (and I actually saw some of the game; shocking). Meanwhile, I'm discovering how freaking addictive MSG is. Our house currently has a dirth of snack food, and I'm too lazy yet to make more of my soon-to-be world famous ginger chocolate cookies (and besides, we have no oat bran) so I'm snacking on these shrimp cracker things. They sound gross, but if you've ever tried your standard Chinese junk food, you'll know what I'm on about. Anyway, they are heavily dosed with the flavouring of the gods, and I'm nearly done half a bag. Eeeeewwwwww.

I'm impressing myself (and my crazed Leafs-fan Coworker) with the amount of knowledge about hockey I've absorbed thus far. I mean, I still couldn't tell you much, but a lot of things that previously would've been met with blank gazes from me are now actually making sense, on a kind of intuitive level. I'll never be able to converse with your standard hockey fan until I develop a sense of the history though, and get to know the players. But. That can wait at least until after this exam. At least. I'm not really sure I *ever* want to be that involved. I mean, I don't keep up with celebrity news (exception to this rule further down) so why should I keep up with sports-celebrity news?

As my exception to the rule, I have noted that John Cusack is dating Meg Ryan. I have no particular opinion on this, what with having never met either, etc. however, it is of note since I'm about as obsessed with John Cusack as my sister is with Matt Damon. It's not so much that I want him bad (because, let's face it, his characters are usually kinda creepy), just that I really like his movies. (Generally. See Serendipity for the exception that makes the rule. Ugh.) So yes. John + Meg. Disgustingly cute. I don't disapprove. No Hollywood couple could ask for more.

In Lent-related news, I'll be able to use icq again in two days! Woohoo! My project for May (since I decided that one month to 40 days or so was a reasonable length of time to expect me to hold a new project) is going to be No Traditional Profanity. Although being at work has somewhat toned done my language, being around my friends or talking with Boy generally reverts me to my "normal" hyper-dependance on the word "fuck". It's versatile, damnit! But. I think it'd be fun to try out the "alternative swearing" for a month. Only a month, though. Hmm. Maybe I should wait for June; only 30 days that way...

Anyway. Enough stalling. Back to work for me. Well, unless someone wants to suggest some fun molecules I can try building? Because, you know, I'd have to, in the interest of, you know, pursuit of knowledge and all that. *cough* Right, work.


Last book read:


( prev ++ 0 comment/s ++ next )



prev ++ next
(or "today"'s)



Last we checked,
lilephyte was...

...archived
...friendly
...factoidey
...profiled
...into notes



++ "recent" ++
Wednesday, January 21st, 2009
January 24th
December 17th
December 16th
November 14th


ResolutionWatch 2007
Photos (200): 130
Kitty Photos (30): 40
Scrapbook (20): 1
Books (just for fun): 16


+DiaryLand+

:)