l i l e p h y t e


April 3rd, 21:44 | While thoughts of soap-making danced in her head...

That's it, it's settled. Soap-session. Seriously. I spent most of my free time today surfing the soap-making sites. I've no idea how I became so obsessed (over the course of one day; holy jeebus!) but seriously, I am. Just enthralled.

It's not entirely surprising. I've always liked doing stuff with my hands. For example: not so big about cooking, but I love baking with a passion, I like sewing, and used to spend hours molding stuff out of fimo. Silly putty is still one of my favourite toys. I used to make my own paper when I was a wee lass, I like calligraphy, embroidering, or hook-latching rugs. I love gardening. It's a weird kind of balance. I mean, I'm not particularly good at any of those things, but I like doing them all. (I prefer the term "jill-of-all-trades" to "dabbler", thank you very much.) It totally makes sense for soap-making to appeal to me. After all, what is soapmaking?

  fun stirring of goop +
  dangerous chemicals +
  dyes + yummy smells
= soap-making

I think the fascination is obvious, don't you? It's making me brush up on my essential oils knowledge though. So far, from all my reading, I've got two ideas for soap I really want to make. One is a kind of "wake up!" morning shower soap. I was thinking of putting orange (or generic citrus) oil along with ginger in the soap, and maybe orange rind or something. Mmm... tangy! The second one is kind of a milk, honey, oat-y-scrubb-y soap. Maybe chamomile or something too. "Soothing and wholesome" kind of thing. You know.

Alright, enough of that. I am tired. I mean, I like emphasizing things with capital letters, but it's like, I'm so tired I can't muster up the energy for a capital 't'. That kind of tired. And sleepy. I'm not really sure why. Well, that's not true. Yesterday was a long day. I've not been getting enough sleep (seeing as how last night I was up until two reading up on tallow rendering and the difference between lard and tallow and other such gripping material) so it all makes sense. I'm also working the long hours at work. I surprised myself earlier tonight by turning off my monitor and dutifully whipping out the books though. Can it be? Is it possible that I've actually trained myself into the routine of studying?? Cripes that thought scares me. I mean, it's good, it means there's hope yet that I can salvage my last year. Still... eerie.

Speaking of creepy (note to self: study the art of the not-so-inelegant segue) I was pondering buying a daruma statue for myself for next year. I have mixed feelings about this. I mean, they are traditional gifts for people starting projects, or businesses or school years, so it wouldn't be totally freakish or anything like that. Frankly, I'll be thankful for all the help I can get next year, and if some of it comes my way from a creepy round dude in the corner of my room, more power to me. It's just that... well... they're red (I like cold colours) and always look so stern and grumpy! And the idea of having a one-eyed grumpy armless dude stare at me for 8 months kinda creeps me out. Even if I know he's supposed to be rooting for me. Thoughts anyone?

I am experiencing a drout. I've been scribbling ideas for what to do with the anime club's website. The only thing I could come up with was based on fish. Fish. I'm hoping that this hyper-studying is what's killing my ability to think creatively (although that doesn't bode well for my essay-writing) or something, because honestly? Fish?? I'm also kinda sad that no one on the exec wrote me back to tell me wtf is going on. Kinda hard for me to write about the upcoming showing if no one wants to let me know when/where/what's playing. Blah.

As a final random thought before I toddle off to bed, I decided that I can probably compromise on a lot of aspects of my wedding reception that I currently hold as "must-do/don't"s. However, I draw the line at Belgian endives. I fucking hate Belgian endive. There's no real reason (apart from the fact that they taste like ass grown backwards) but I refuse to be subjected to it (or be held responsible for subjecting my guests to it) on the night of my freaking wedding. Endives. Ugh.


Last book read:


( prev ++ 0 comment/s ++ next )



prev ++ next
(or "today"'s)



Last we checked,
lilephyte was...

...archived
...friendly
...factoidey
...profiled
...into notes



++ "recent" ++
Wednesday, January 21st, 2009
January 24th
December 17th
December 16th
November 14th


ResolutionWatch 2007
Photos (200): 130
Kitty Photos (30): 40
Scrapbook (20): 1
Books (just for fun): 16


+DiaryLand+

:)