l i l e p h y t e


December 30th, 19:42 | Love of highlights: the first step in a frightening trend towards FashionWhore?

Alright, so despite the fact that frickin' no one at work (either on my team -- I blame the lack of girls there today -- or among the people I eat with) noticed my damn highlights (hello?? nearly-blonde streaks in nearly-black hair??) I'm in love with them. I know. I'm so ashamed. It's probably just that it's been so long since I've changed anything that I forgot how much fun it is. I also assume another big factor in my liking it is that I have straight hair. (I'm kind of afraid to wash my hair, because then it won't be straight; or rather, I know I'll be too lazy to spend the half an hour drying it straight.) I should probably post a picture, but let's face it, I'm too damn lazy.

However, despite aforementioned trait, I actually got myself out of bed this morning and did the yoga thing. I underestimated the length of time for each card -- they were about 15 minutes each, which is still good. So I did two. And hopefully I'll keep it up...right.

In a shocking turn of events, I'm tearing through Walden Two. For those not in the know, it's written by B.F. Skinner, a man with whom I -- being a major expert now, since I'm taking psych101 and all -- have major issues with. This is one of the guys who pioneered Behaviourism, and is probably best remembered as being That Guy Who Made Rats Push Little Levers For Food Pellets. Anyway, my major beef with Behaviourism is that I don't see how it doesn't negate free will since, essentially, the point is that people are programmable. (Right chan? I understood that part right?) Anyway, so my sister happens to not hate Behaviourism and made me read the book. Due to it being really damned slow at work, and the hair thing taking for-frickin-ever, I've read a whole whack of the book in the past two days. What with tomorrow being the last day of the year and all, I don't expect it to be particularly busy, so I'll probably finish it tomorrow.

Holy blap. Tomorrow's the last night of the year. I mean, not that it matters, since the year is an entirely human construct with no biological impact on me anyway, but wow. I kinda feel like it's still May, and I've just started out on my internship. But I kinda feel that way every year. Time to write out all those projects I guess.

(Oddly, I can remember my mindset in early January of this year. All determined, and a little lost, and fully intent on the Bridget-esque diary. I'm still kind of in that mood, but... it's different. For one thing, I'm single, and I've managed to stay that way for about five months. Yes, this is a major accomplishment for me. Secondly, I've had a little time to think about things, and re-orient. I've also had some time to scare myself into thinking about getting my ass in gear scholastically. Will I? Perhaps. I'll answer that next December. But. I feel like in a lot of ways, I'm in a better place. Still feel a little like I missed out on the relationship with RecentEx, that there are lots of things we could've done that we didn't, but I'm not going to dwell on that.)


Last book read:


( prev ++ 0 comment/s ++ next )



prev ++ next
(or "today"'s)



Last we checked,
lilephyte was...

...archived
...friendly
...factoidey
...profiled
...into notes



++ "recent" ++
Wednesday, January 21st, 2009
January 24th
December 17th
December 16th
November 14th


ResolutionWatch 2007
Photos (200): 130
Kitty Photos (30): 40
Scrapbook (20): 1
Books (just for fun): 16


+DiaryLand+

:)