l i l e p h y t e


November 6th, 16:35 | :: Drive Me Crazy

As evident by movie review, I didn't really have much to write about. I likely will later, but for now, movie!

First, I really feel I must justify my love for this movie (and yes, I love it). Since I normally can't stand chick flicks (and by extension, most teeny bopper movies) how can I love Drive Me Crazy? It's cute. That's really all there is to it. It's cute, the dialogue is pretty good, and detail. I mean it's no 10 Things, but it's still not bad.

So first up, the characters. I love Chase Hammond (and no, the fact that he's tall, dark, is still fun enough to dance cutely, and rebellious doesn't have everything to do with it... mrrrowr) and I love that he isn't one-sided. I love the way you get to see his dorkety side with his friends (more on them later) and a laid-back side, his "wow, that girl's really cute" side. He's a whole person. Nicole is not so well developped, but I mean, she's played by Sabrina, what do you expect? She's alright. A little hyper-focused-perky, but alright.

Chase's friends are the bomb. Any guys who get excited about "the original space invaders" and "quality 1982 graphics" are guys I'll love. They're so adorable!! So yeah, I like them. And Ray is such a sweetheart!

The only other character that stood out for me was Dulce, not so much because of her character, but because of her hair. I'm serious. She's all dark-brown hair with red streaks in and every time you see her it's done differently. I could watch that movie over and over for her hair. I want her hair.

Right. Anyway, so I like a goodly number of the characters (and/or their hair). Secondly the dialogue. We've been over how very, very important dialogue is. This movie has extremely snappy lines in some places. In others, it's merely slightly above par. Nonetheless, it's acceptable. Not nearly at Mallrats level, but it's okay.

The music! Again, not as punk-laden as 10 Things, but still pretty good! I particularly enjoy the presence of The Donnas.

Although the characters are key, I think another big part of why I love this movie is the feeling it evokes. It's essentially the quintessential romance: literally girl falls for boy next door, and he realizes that he wants a cute, happy girl, rather than a tough, kinda hot, pseudo-intellectual rebel one. Maybe it appeals to some bizarre inner fantasy of mine.

Whatever it is, I give it 6.8 out of 9.


Last book read:


( prev ++ 0 comment/s ++ next )



prev ++ next
(or "today"'s)



Last we checked,
lilephyte was...

...archived
...friendly
...factoidey
...profiled
...into notes



++ "recent" ++
Wednesday, January 21st, 2009
January 24th
December 17th
December 16th
November 14th


ResolutionWatch 2007
Photos (200): 130
Kitty Photos (30): 40
Scrapbook (20): 1
Books (just for fun): 16


+DiaryLand+

:)