l i l e p h y t e


August 25th, 14:04 | Smaller than a slice; life-wedges

Today I contemplated dying my hair red (again) and decided against it. In the hallway, waiting for the elevator, I realized for the first time in awhile that I really like my hair just dark. It's taken awhile for the highlights to grow out. Having uni-coloured hair is nice, and damnit it looks good the way it is.

Last night I made flapjack, only I cooked the sugar too hot, so it was kind of caramelized. Sadly, this means that rather than be a slightly gooey, oatey snack, it's like oats buried in hard toffee. Still tasty but... a little rough on the teeth. Hasn't stopped me from nibbling on it all day today though.

Today I realized that I'm not a big fan of the phone because it's really hard to multi-task while you're talking on it. When exactly did I become so obsessed with keeping busy? I mean, over IM, or email, you can always do other stuff at the same time on your computer. In person, I never feel the need to be doing other stuff, because I enjoy the Being With. But the phone, that weird limbo between the two, has somehow become something I avoid because it doesn't satisfy either my desire for human contact or my desire to be "productive". How odd.

I walked to the library today without a bra. It's been awhile since I've done that (not the library specifically, but, you know, wandered around outside) and it was liberating. It reminded me that knowing what someone looks like naked doesn't give you power over them. Unless they let it.

Yesterday I finally got around to registering for my class. I have labs on Monday nights, class on Thursday nights, and tutorials on Tuesday afternoons that I totally can't make it to, due to having to work. I'll email my profs about that. Hopefully they'll be understanding, and it'll work out.

Today I finished Girlfriend in a Coma and I realized that my love affair with Coupland is doomed to end sometime soon. Don't get me wrong. I'm still going to finish up my project (although I really doubt I'll do it within the given time frame). It's just that I'm moving past the point where I want to hear what he's saying. I was thinking about this in the shower, how for every discernable culture-generation, there are people who pinpoint and put on display some aspect of that culture-generation. For us, Douglas Coupland's got the monopoly on our angst and feeling of emptiness, that weird malaise that comes from not automatically being given something to believe in. Kevin Smith nailed the sense of humour (seriously, do you know anyone our age who *doesn't* like Kevin Smith?), etc. And I'm not saying that I no longer identify, because I do. And I still love three of his first four books like crazy. I'll probably re-read those forever. But at a point where I don't want to keep fixating on new ways of putting words around the idea of people replacing themselves with tasks to accomplish. I want to get out there and prove that I'm not doing that.

This morning I went swimming for the first time in about five days. I also realized that there's no way I'm going to be able to stick to my training "schedule" for the Run for the Cure coming up in October. I then realized that it was just as well, since, as yet, I still haven't asked for anyone to sponsor me. And I'm not likely to anytime soon. Don't get me wrong, I'm still running -- it's just that this way, I don't feel like I need to put on a good show at it, to make it worth the money I've swiped off people.

A little before writing this, I watered my plants and had a conversation (admittedly, very one-sided) with them. You need to understand that I have many plants. The act of watering them takes about half an hour. I talked for the entire time. To my plants. I know I should be concerned/seek therapy but honestly, I kind of like our relationship. (Yes. I realize what I just wrote.)

Over the past week or so, I've cleaned out our "den" (by which I mean the place where our machines reside; I like to think of them sleeping at night -- like kids at camp), reorganized my closet into "work", "casual" and "dressy-up" sections, vacuumed everything and repotted a couple plants. Slated for this weekend is the monstrous task of overhauling our locker (which is about the size of my bedroom) and inventorying everything in it. Fun times.

I think that brings us up to date, really. I'm kicking around getting in snatches of laziness while I can before I hit up Workplace and school (together at last!) and forget how to breathe.

Last note. For at least some of the writing of this entry I was loudly singing along to Livin' on a Prayer in a wildly off-key fashion. Bon Jovi, were he dead, would have been spinning like a dervish. Happily he's still alive and will likely never know. It was great fun. I recommend it to everyone.


Last book read:


( prev ++ 0 comment/s ++ next )



prev ++ next
(or "today"'s)



Last we checked,
lilephyte was...

...archived
...friendly
...factoidey
...profiled
...into notes



++ "recent" ++
Wednesday, January 21st, 2009
January 24th
December 17th
December 16th
November 14th


ResolutionWatch 2007
Photos (200): 130
Kitty Photos (30): 40
Scrapbook (20): 1
Books (just for fun): 16


+DiaryLand+

:)