l i l e p h y t e


December 28th, 09:27 | random postage

I dream more vividly at home. I was telling the Boy about one of my dreams last night that featured residence (kind of) and a kid I didn't realize till after I woke up was really very, very much like Stewie (although he wasn't trying to kill me). Last night, I was all happy because I got to watch the X-Files, and it was the episode with Phoebe and the fire guy. I dreamed about... how to properly rig a place (it looked like one of those cottages you can rent in the winter) with household item-based explosives so we could escape when trapped. There was also a vague res-looking part in it, but it's all kind of hazy right now.

I have no idea what any of this means. I know I'm sleeping better in the sense that it doesn't take me forever to fall asleep and I generally feel rested (although I've been sleeping late and not wanting to get out of bed -- holiday sloth? or am I really not rested?) and all that crap. The dreams are freaking me out though. It's been so long since my dreams were that crazily vivid and too-bright, too-real, too-intense. I'd forgotten. I shall have to get back into the habit of figuring them out again.

In Miscellaneous Notes news, my parents got me a plush cat that mews when you drop it (what is it with parents gifting their children with noisy plush toys this Christmas?) which is very cute and I'm thinking of naming Scrumpkin (yeah, I don't know either) and I can't find my pass crest and discipline bars and all that other shit I've been hanging onto for four years. Now that I finally have a jacket to sew them onto... where did I put them?? Argh.

So during yesterday's long sojourn of baking (I lied, back when I said I wanted to be a baker -- I couldn't deal with all the standing. Or at least... I couldn't yesterday. Seriously, what's wrong with me lately? I'm such a sissy.) I did manage to watch some of the news. (!!!) Not to bash Americans too hard, because honestly I feel bad about stereotyping a whole country worth of people when I'm really just ranting about the spin doctors in question, but what the Hell is it with you guys ("all y'all"?) and not taking resposibility for your own actions?? So there's a cow. That's sick. You run tests on the flesh... but still use the meat in hamburgers. Then upon investigation the first thing you say is "Oh, it came from Canada!...maybe. Like do your fucking research before just trying to drag other countries into this mess for crying out loud. And stop the blame game with where the cow came from. Why is there no emphasis put on the fact that despite them knowing it was questionable meat they still processed it??

This is, of course, a recurring theme. That whole "McDonald's et. al. made me fat" thing?? Yeah, alright, any country whose courts take that shit seriously really, really need to lose some lawyers. I'm sure there's tons of well-meaning law students out there who will one day make for great lawyers who uphold the rights of citizens and all that stuff, but this thing the US has with "I'm pissed off and not as rich as I think I ought to be -- let's sue some big company"? That attitude is fucking terrible. And people really shouldn't be encouraging it.

*Deep breath.* Okay, happy, non-pissed-off thoughts.

There aren't really all that many. The Boy and I are crackly because he's disappointed at the way the holidays have worked out, and I'm extra tense and jumpy on the phone. I'm not really sure why. I'm meeting up with a family friend to talk to him about Pharmacy (both to get in and as a career choice) and I'm really hoping to drive. I could use some time on the road with my music to clear my head.

More baking planned and I'm visiting the folks at Workplace next week as well as hanging out with BroKitty and MathiEx. (We think we're going to spend a day movie hopping. (They're pros, and I am their padawan.) This is sweetness 'cause I want to see the Peter Pan movie, the Michael Caine one, I could deal with watching Love Actually again, and the third Matrix (which I *still* haven't seen) and if we get desperate (since movies of late are pretty shit) then we can always watch ROTK again. Mmmm.)

Feel lazy, lacking energy here. Probably because I haven't been doing all the stuff I wanted to do (where's that pillow case I was going to sew for my Leafs' (*shudder*) body pillow?) but I'm very slowly getting around to some of it. I'm not really sure what's dragging my energy down. No sense of urgency or something. Or alternately no sense that I'm really in control? Home tends to do that to me -- my mom kind of makes me feel like I can pretend, but she still calls the shots (hence why I now own a "spare" set of Fila running shoes instead of the Vans I was eyeing. *sigh* I need to grow up.


Last book read:


( prev ++ 0 comment/s ++ next )



prev ++ next
(or "today"'s)



Last we checked,
lilephyte was...

...archived
...friendly
...factoidey
...profiled
...into notes



++ "recent" ++
Wednesday, January 21st, 2009
January 24th
December 17th
December 16th
November 14th


ResolutionWatch 2007
Photos (200): 130
Kitty Photos (30): 40
Scrapbook (20): 1
Books (just for fun): 16


+DiaryLand+

:)