l i l e p h y t e


December 10th, 22:47 | You can take your nucleic acids and shovel them!

I am a bad, bad person. Talking on the phone with the Boy for a brief interval, we were talking about how neither of us is sleeping particularly well these days -- especially last night. (This was extremely irritating for me, as I had my hardest exam this morning at 9am and didn't end up passing out till around 3, but more on that later.) He was saying that if he were here, we'd both sleep better. A discussion ensued about how while he was here, he'd woken up from a nightmare, and apparently had been saying to me "I just had a nightmare that my house was burning. Can I have a hug?" and I mumbled something vaguely, elbowed him in the face and curled up away from him again.

If this wasn't bad enough, I was incoherent with laughter (because I have no recollection of this happening) while trying to apologize. I'm sure it was very convincing and heartfelt-sounding. The Boy was mildly put out at my mirth. It was hilarious.

...having written all that out, it's probably not as funny for you as it was for me. Still. I'm a bad, bad person. ^_^

Okay, about the exam. It was my nucleic acids course. And yes, in answer to freaking everyone's question when I say that, YES, there is a whole course devoted to nucleic acids. You've no idea how many are running rampant in your body, or how much upkeep (in the form of proteins, whose names and functions I have to memorize) they require. Needy little bitches, Jesus. Anyway, so yeah. It's the scariest exam I have this term, and I wrote it this morning on about 4 hours of sleep. I think I did okay. Not great, could have done better, but could also have done much, much worse. Rock.

On a somewhat-related note, I came back and had to leave pronto to go to a networking cram session (have that tomorrow morning at 9) so I left my frosh (who all knew how worried I was about this exam) a note on my door saying "I didn't fail! W00t!". A discussion ensued on the note as to what "w00t" meant, and l33t sp34k in general. So funny. Later, someone informed me that apparently I'm a baller who rolls tight whips. I only wish. (If you're as clueless as I was at the time: be thankful for reliable information sources. I know I am.)

Anyway, my floor rocks. One frosh had to get me to study in the first place, another one leant me her good luck bear, and gave me a rose today (!), most of them wished me good luck on my door, and I got to sit next to one of them in the exam today (she was an engfrosh writing her calculus). Seriously. Having a floor of people to share your life with you? Best thing ever. I'm having way more fun as a don than I ever did as a frosh in res.

Well, that about brings us up to date. I'd like to write more, but I seriously need to haul ass with the crammage. Not too much, the exam is open-book, but I'd like to go over the protocols and make summary sheets for myself. I picked up my computing jacket (me! own a leather jacket!!), called my mom, and am waiting for my laundry to dry. And there were rice crispies downstairs from the caf! All in all, it's been a pretty good day.


Last book read:


( prev ++ 0 comment/s ++ next )



prev ++ next
(or "today"'s)



Last we checked,
lilephyte was...

...archived
...friendly
...factoidey
...profiled
...into notes



++ "recent" ++
Wednesday, January 21st, 2009
January 24th
December 17th
December 16th
November 14th


ResolutionWatch 2007
Photos (200): 130
Kitty Photos (30): 40
Scrapbook (20): 1
Books (just for fun): 16


+DiaryLand+

:)