l i l e p h y t e


December 8th, 12:54 | Thoughts on how people "meet"

As suspected. Despite major distractions in the form of more magnet-making (*cough* Magnets! They're the new soap!), talking to the Boy and wandering around my room looking for my recently purchased Cool Thing (aka a tacky, pink hacky sack) which the Boy claims has too many beads inside, I have studied. I'm actually at the end of the material for one prof for the class. Upon further review I realized how much I need to review pre-transcription stuff, but I shall do it. Also, there's a Q&A session with said prof at 14h. Excellent.

I thought I'd take a quick break to write. (Well, and then eat, but it's not like you'd know that if I hadn't mentionned it.) I was thinking about when I introduce the Boy. People will invariable ask...

  1. What program are you in? (Computer engineering, in French no less)
  2. ...wait, you don't go to this university? (...no. Hence why you almost never see him. *bitter*)
  3. Oh... so where are you from? (Long story. Shortened --> All of Northern Ontario)
  4. ...so how did you two meet??

The middle two questions are often skipped over. People appear to be defined by their major (no surprise here; I learned that in first year) and... couples are judged by how they met/got together? What?? It makes sense though. Let's ponder.

Movies. How many movies *cough*chick-flicks*cough* are entirely about two characters getting together? Okay, so how they met may not be important, but the actual saga of how their relationship started? It's the point of the movie!

The obsession with Love At First Sight. There wouldn't be such a romanticized pedestal-ization of this in society if people weren't so hopelessly taken up with the idea that no preamble were needed. "Oh, I saw him and I just knew he was the one, and that we'd always be together..." Seriously. What??

The Ranking System for Meeting People. Come on, you know it's true. You've been talking to an old friend about someone (a friend, someone you hate, whatever) you met/know online and they'll ask "so how do you know this person?" and you'll tell them, and they'll say "...oh. So you've only met them on the 'Net". While I agree that there's a whole identity freedom issue thing, I also agree with the Conscience of a Hacker, that people are more likely to be themselves in personality (if nothing else) when all that's really identifying them is their ideas. So how is chatting for a couple months with someone any less valid a method for "meeting" them than grinding against a random in a bar? I could go on, but I'm hungry. I think what I'm saying is that I don't understand this fascination. Firstly, with *how* we met. Honestly, I hate having to explain that about the Boy. I'm not from anywhere he's from or been. He's the best friend of a guy that my sister was dating in our first years -- I started talking to him (yes, through icq -- but does it count as "online" if he's a friend of a friend??) to get dirt on the guy she was dating. We hung out, got along well, formed a small circle of friends with both mine and his, and now we're dating. It's so much uglier to explain it in person though. Ugh.

I could as easily say "Oh, well, I ran into him at a Drop Kick Murphys concert/Linux Symposium/busstop because I'm a big clutz." It doesn't matter? Are people researching for ideas on how they might meet people to find their sidekick? Are they looking for a way to deride our relationship? Of what interest is how I met anyone?? When was the last time anyone asked me how I met RecentEx? And why the fuck is "Oh, we go to school together" a valid response in university?? I'm in classes with ~300 other people -- I don't know them!!! Gah.

As to how we got together... I guess I can understand that. I don't really like sharing it, but that's for the same reason most people like hearing about it. It's the personalized "real life" magic brought out of the movies. All the ooey-gooey sparkly part of every relationship that's always perfect.

Anyway, food and school. And bitter, frosty wind under hard, clear, cold skies :)


Last book read:


( prev ++ 0 comment/s ++ next )



prev ++ next
(or "today"'s)



Last we checked,
lilephyte was...

...archived
...friendly
...factoidey
...profiled
...into notes



++ "recent" ++
Wednesday, January 21st, 2009
January 24th
December 17th
December 16th
November 14th


ResolutionWatch 2007
Photos (200): 130
Kitty Photos (30): 40
Scrapbook (20): 1
Books (just for fun): 16


+DiaryLand+

:)