l i l e p h y t e


November 28th, 02:38 | almost there...

I'm up, at 2:38, trying to talk myself into bullshitting a page worth (single-spaced, mofo) about how neurons use IRES in mRNA so that they can get extra translational action going (it's kind of where you take DNA and make it churn out proteins in a cell) and why. Which is fine. I find this interesting, and I think it's really cool. But a whole fucking page to explain this?? Jesus, the actual paper it's based on is only five pages long -- and a good deal of that is diagrams and explaining methodology. Reasonable? No, I think not. I think it's "fuck with the margins and font-faces" time.

I think I did poorly on the oral/listening part of my Chinese exam today, and am likely to do worse on tomorrow's written (ahh! characters!) part, but as everyone keeps telling me: you're not even in the course! Why worry? Why worry, you all ask? Because I care. I spent all term in this fucking class, doing the homework, working my ass off. I'm fucked if I'm going to bail on an exam just because I'm not being marked for it. (Not officially. She still marks and tells me what I do wrong.) My Mandarin prof is one of my referees for medschool. I was kind of worried she hates me. Until today, when I went to give her another form (this time with a month's notice! Go me!) when she looked hopeful that I would stay in the class for next term -- very, very doubtful. She offered to hook me up with a tutor though, so I could "keep up my Mandarin". I like it. I am going to make a point of going to visit her on occasion and maybe ask her stuff about the book. Note to self: study up a couple chapters over Christmas break, and start on Chinese Potter book.

Networking. I'm nearly done, but need to do the last question still. Tonight's really been insane. I didn't start my homework, essentially, till 2am. So I'm not doing badly. I'm very, very proud of myself for getting my shit together earlier this week though, otherwise tonight I'd be fucked. CodeChickie had a major crisis which took up a good hour and half and is the reason my focus has been shot all night. My froshlings are coming to visit because I won't be here this weekend, I'm on-call, and generally stressed out. I was also up till 3:30 last night helping MetallicBoy with aforementionned assignments, and my oral exam was at 8:30 this morning. I miss The Boy, who is also hyper-stressed due to it being his Last Week Of School For Real. So he's even harder-worked than I. (Also, he's in engineering, so I guess he's got more work in general, probably. He's been living in a lab working on a robot of late. Poor Boy.)

My point is that I'm tired, and really not feeling like any of this. But I'm listening to "Fighter" (yes, by Christina Aguilera, shut up) and feeling semi-bad-ass because I am, actually, handling this relatively well. And if I can just get through tomorrow's four hours of classes (what the hell kind of last day of class is that??), buy my bus tickets, pack, wash my hair, and get my ass on the bus... I'll be able to crash until Ottawa (2 hours! only two hours on the bus!) when I can finally relax.

There had just better be hard liquor at the Iron Ring Party tomorrow night, though. And dancing. The Boy and his friends don't have to dance, but they're sure as Hell letting me work my stress out on the dancefloor (and/or speaker). Cheap booze, dancefloor. That's all I'm saying.


Last book read:


( prev ++ 0 comment/s ++ next )



prev ++ next
(or "today"'s)



Last we checked,
lilephyte was...

...archived
...friendly
...factoidey
...profiled
...into notes



++ "recent" ++
Wednesday, January 21st, 2009
January 24th
December 17th
December 16th
November 14th


ResolutionWatch 2007
Photos (200): 130
Kitty Photos (30): 40
Scrapbook (20): 1
Books (just for fun): 16


+DiaryLand+

:)