l i l e p h y t e


October 15th, 15:44 | Boy Conquers Wall Of Cantonese!

It's been an interesting few days, and I don't mean it in the Confucian sense. It really has been a strange couple.

Thanksgiving weekend was good. It was awesome to see Linlin and Kana again, and listen to Linlin's stories about dragonboating and suchlike, although it's too bad Chan and MechetyAnne couldn't make it. But. I'm sure I'll see them soon?

Amongst other things, the scrapbook that the Dragonboat team made for Linlin impressed me deeply and have inspired me to perhaps work on my scrapbooking technique or something. I am awed. And mildly jealous.

Thanksgiving itself was fabulous. We ate Gargamel (who was slightly overdone, due to us not being used to our new oven) and the Boy was well-received. He claims that he understood the vast majority of what was being said (Thanksgiving and Christmas at my house is like a solid wall of Cantonese with the occasional island of English strewn about) so that impresses me greatly and makes me happy. A good time was had by all? I'm not feeling certain of all that much these days.

That's not bad though! Not at all! Today was supposed to be the deadline for applying to medschools in Ontario, and I was all upset about my idiotic reference mistakes and late mailing and all that. University of Manitoba's deadline was also yesterday, and I was all stressed because I hadn't even looked at it. ACK! But! But. Yesterday the universe was in a strange mood and seemed to go out of its way to help me. I calmed down, got my shit together, and mailed my application to UManitoba. I checked and realized the Ontario medschools deadline had been extended till Monday. One of my friends informs me his is deeply in smit. The world was sunshiney and great.

(Of course, then I got hit with today's midterm and networking assignment which I could not, for the life of me, figure out, but hey, I can't have it all, right?)

Weird. Almost enough to make me believe in something like God. Seriously. RecentEx used to say that my "It's alright -- everything will turn out okay in the end!" attitude was endearing and great and all, but that one day, the world would crush me. Yesterday was completely poised to be one of those days. But. The world totally took me under its wing and made everything better. It's days like that that make me believe I live a completely charmed life. Seriously. Everything falls into my lap. I don't know what's out there running the show, but whatever it is has me blessed.

Enough of that. Yesterday was also good because I got to hang out with CodeChickie, who I haven't seen since summer sometime (apart from random "hi"-ness in classes and such, obviously) and she was trying to help me with networking. MetallicBoy was also over and screwing around with my machine (sweet Christ, who has issues trying to get JBuilder running?? That thing is more userfriendly than Disneyland!) and being generally abrasive. I don't understand (or like) it. Grrr. Sadly, I probably won't give up, because I don't like the idea of giving up on people. Still. This is going to end up hurting me, I suspect. Stupid boys.

This afternoon is drizzly and crazy windy and beautiful. I feel like cuddling up with the hot chocolate and nappage, but am not letting myself because there's 800 flavours of work I should be doing instead. ...so I'm blogging. Go me!

I don't really know what it is. I feel... floaty. Yesterday, in the middle of all the crazy goodness, I felt... It. That glow. That "God's in his Heaven, all's right with the world" feeling I haven't had since I was a wee lass. It's kind of freaking me out. It occured to me that if there's a godlike being out there, maybe it's sufficiently not-petty to not care if we believe or not, that so long as we're trying to be good, we'll be taken care of. Does that make any sense though? Mehn. Does it make any sense that I'm questioning my world view based on having a good day?

I think I'm in too quiet and sleepy a mood for this particular train of thought. So I'll put it on hold until I'm a little more lucid. In the meantime, I hope everyone else out there's happy and warm :)


Last book read:


( prev ++ 0 comment/s ++ next )



prev ++ next
(or "today"'s)



Last we checked,
lilephyte was...

...archived
...friendly
...factoidey
...profiled
...into notes



++ "recent" ++
Wednesday, January 21st, 2009
January 24th
December 17th
December 16th
November 14th


ResolutionWatch 2007
Photos (200): 130
Kitty Photos (30): 40
Scrapbook (20): 1
Books (just for fun): 16


+DiaryLand+

:)