l i l e p h y t e


May 11th, 09:07 | Happy May Showers

Some days I can convince myself I'm not a crappy daughter. I suppose that the fact that that only happens about once a year should kind of confirm aforementionned suspicion but... we're going to gloss over that.

So... last update was in April. Wow I'm bad at this. The Boy visited for five days, hence the lack of updates for that period, and then I got hit by this monster wave of lethargy, which I didn't overcome till Friday. Yesterday carried great potential until I woke up, when my uterus was all grumpy (hey, it sounds cuter than saying I was racked with cramps and the vague desire to curl up and die) and I was feeling nauseous (and later threw up) allegedly due to (my all-time favourite sick-food) congee we'd had at a new restaurant. So. Fun times. But it was all good, post-up-throwing, and my family was over for a Mothers' Day potluck (quite probably the last family event in this house ever) and I totally forgot to take pictures of everyone.

(Sidenote: I have discovered Fotolog and am way too happy about it. I started posting randomnimities, but will try to link any relevant pictures, okay?)

Right. Stay of Boy (because I just know everyone's dying for tales of sappines... *cough*)... was great! He got in Wednesday night, so there was a little hang-out-age downtown and hitting this tex-mex place (something Armadillo? It's on Front, right near Union Station for anyone who cares) which had okay quesadillas and surprisingly good Baked Potato Soup. I'm not even kidding. (I just had to order and try it. I had to.)

A little confusion ensued with NeighbourBoy about Boy's lodgings for the night (Oh! NeighbourBoy now has a gf! Woohoo!) but they went home. Thursday was fabulous. The Boy woke me up way-to-early (yet also not early enough) when he came over. He was so cute all bedraggled on our front step, since he'd walked in the rain. So we dried him off (yes "we" damnit, leave me alone, it's my story) and went back to bed. Got up later, made scones (I make the best frickin' orange chocolate chip scones in existence) watched Stand By Me which was so cool! All those big-name actors before they were really famous! By then it had stopped raining so we wandered around the park near my house, after taking a picture of the two toilets on the curb across the street (look, I don't know either) and then we walked past Workplace to J-Town to peer at mysterious Japanese snackety foods (dark chocolate Crunky (comes in the brown box) is the best chocolate ever) and then home again. My parents took him out to dinner and we stayed in lounging about and doing nothing.

Met up for lunch on Friday, and spent the evening at NeighbourBoy's watching Futurama episodes off the dvd. Yay for Futurama! (Although I kind of regret shunning The Family Guy. Mehn.)

Saturday we hit the Shanghai Dim Sum (since his return home, the Boy has tried out a dim sum restaurant in Ottawa, and reports extreme disappointment; I'm happy to say I've trained him well in the art of high-standard dim sum snobbery), trawled a mall (where I bought "yoga pants" at Old Navy; I'd be ashamed but they're so comfy) so the Boy could pick up a non-slob shirt since he was invited to dinner again, then watched Chicago. Singing better than I expected, overall very good, includes Gere semi-strip scene. I give it 8 happy faces (out of nine). Dinner at our place (this is my strongest sign that my mom likes him, since she invited him; sometimes I'm not so sure she approves, although I'm quite certain the dad unit loves him) followed by Lola Rennt (which I'd also bought that day).

The whole weekend was just beautiful. Sunday we hit the Griddle (their buffet is totally going downhill -- what do you mean no Froot Loops??) where we ran into Girl Cousin. Quite the shocker since I didn't think the Golden Griddle was really her kind of thing. We spent most of the day at Edward's Gardens with NeighbourBoy where much tree-climbing, streamlet-wading, and picture-taking ensued. Last stop at the mall downtown, where we kicked back at the Indigo for awhile, and I flipped through some crappy smut because I wasn't in the mood for actual reading. I totally don't get why Janet Evanovich sells. Anyway.

Back to the train station, where Boy left, and all returned home. Achey, mopey, clingy, despondant phase started then. Complete lack of motivation for anything settled in and hung around till I got sick of it a couple days ago. Been better since then. Submitted my form to apply for honours, got some other academic admin-o-crap dealt with, have a couple design ideas for Byron and the anime club kicking around (which don't involve fish this time!) and mostly looking for time to code them. We'll see what I can do this week.

Next weekend the Boy's coming down again so we can take the train to Timmins to hang out with his family. I'm pathetically nervous about this, even though I shouldn't be, since I chat with his dad over icq. Still. Nervy.

Today a visit to the museum is scheduled (although I'm a little sad I missed their couture exhibit) and it's rainy, which makes it perfect. I think my mom is enjoying the lazing about the house, though, so we may not go. Mehn. Kind of amused that now that I finally have time to garden on the weekend, it's coming down like nobody's business.

Feel bad about bailing on some highschool friends' bash Friday night, but I couldn't pull myself together in time to go (or even answer a freaking email; I suck). Happily I'm seeing BroKitty, the sister and her boy, and MathieEx on Wednesday when we see the Matrix. (Yes, that's right, folks, opening night. Any of you who thought I had no life were either dead wrong, or spot on, depending on how you want to interpret things.) Also on my to-do list are to watch the new X-men movie, actually answer my email, get some of my random shit packed up and start making myself yoge again in the mornings.

I think that about sums up the past two weeks. So how've you all been?

(Shyeah. As if I hadn't still been reading my normal blogs. Those and the webcomics are about the only part of my life which are consistent. ...that's so sad.)


Last book read:


( prev ++ 0 comment/s ++ next )



prev ++ next
(or "today"'s)



Last we checked,
lilephyte was...

...archived
...friendly
...factoidey
...profiled
...into notes



++ "recent" ++
Wednesday, January 21st, 2009
January 24th
December 17th
December 16th
November 14th


ResolutionWatch 2007
Photos (200): 130
Kitty Photos (30): 40
Scrapbook (20): 1
Books (just for fun): 16


+DiaryLand+

:)