l i l e p h y t e


April 7th, 16:53 | maple sugar cravings... maple soap?

Feeling kinda grumpy for no good reason. I think I'm just craving maple sugar or something. I mean, didn't I go through a similar phase in February/early March, replete with whining about lack of cinnamon hearts? Obviously I'm as much a trend-follower as the baggy-pants-ed, hyper-blondes who wander around in a cloud of tinkling noises from their safety pins while they nonchalently chew their gum and roll their eyes about Kiss92 (a top 40s radio station) ads in the subway. But. I can still keep my nose up since I'm no slave to mere musical tastes, which force me to hate top 40s songs just because they're on the lists (hey, I'll bop along to Bowling For Soup with the best of them), oh no. I am a slave to one thing, and one thing only; that thing is food.

I mean, we already knew of my somewhat unhealthy fascination for fresh bread, and the fact that, come February, I transform into a wild-eyed cinnamon-crazed creature who can be found in a dark corner of her room sat on top of a heap of cinnamon hearts glaring jealously at anyone who approaches and chomping threateningly at them, but really, if you stop to consider it, I am completely at the mercy of seasonal sugar and/or foods. It just doesn't kick in till I'm late by about a month. Behold:

January I'm usually okay, still coasting on the yumminess from Christmas. By the time the end of January hits, I'm usually satisfied by all the greasy/sweet goodness that the Chinese new year brings with it. So that's fine. I'm settled for most of the way through February... when the cinnamon heart cravings kick in. These don't become rampant until mid-March, and when they're sated I barely notice... until my sense of Spring kicks me in the head and says "Oi! Where's the maple sugar???" and I get all stir crazy. Having settled that one, I'm sure I'd be okay until the Easter madness (with Cadbury Cream Eggs Of Evil) came upon me, shortly followed by the mini-eggs of May thing. Then, there's a brief respite. I don't think June has any candy associated with it. Late June and July call up popsicle/fudgsicle cravings, and August is all about butter tarts. September is the Harvest Festival and isn't about "sweet" so much as "savoury" and October, well, the month of Hallowe'en would have to be the calendar's shrine to candy. November is mostly recovering from October's sugar rush and preparing for the yummy over-goodness of Christmas.

I can not believe I just described my average year in terms of food. I have to go feel ashamed now. Ye gods. I have a boyfriend. I thought this was supposed to make me less matronly and boring? *rolls eyes*


Last book read:


( prev ++ 0 comment/s ++ next )



prev ++ next
(or "today"'s)



Last we checked,
lilephyte was...

...archived
...friendly
...factoidey
...profiled
...into notes



++ "recent" ++
Wednesday, January 21st, 2009
January 24th
December 17th
December 16th
November 14th


ResolutionWatch 2007
Photos (200): 130
Kitty Photos (30): 40
Scrapbook (20): 1
Books (just for fun): 16


+DiaryLand+

:)