l i l e p h y t e


December 29th, 20:58 | Maybe I watch too many movies.

I'm not really a big fan of hairdressers. My mom used to try to get me to go with her, sometime around ever six weeks or so, just to get the split ends hacked off, maybe get some layers redefined, that kind of thing. I always avoided going, except maybe once a year, to assure that my hair, rather than heinously neglected, looked merely unkempt. Anyway. After awhile she stopped asking me, so on my yearly requests to tag along with her, she was always kind of pleasantly surprised. You can imagine her elation then when I asked if she can take me to get highlights in.

Being the rather naive, non-hair salon-frequenting girl that I am, I made the silly mistake of assuming that the colour of highlight I pointed to on the colour chart (among those recommended by the stylist, based on my natural colour, which is pretty dark) would actually bear some resemblance to the colour my hair would turn out. Foolish female.

I'm actually getting used to the colour now, and it's not so bad. I was kind of going for a coppery, reddish colour, and ended up with an extremely blonde-looking auburn. But it's alright. I may take Chan up on her idea, and henna the whole thing in a couple months. We'll see how this one goes over for a little while first.

In other news, I've decided to get off my ass on the yoga front. Ever since the class ended (as I suspected) I have been too ass-lazy to stretch. This morning, as a result of seriously ouchy between shoulder-blades spine-area, I've decided I really need to start again. Besides, the book I'm reading has some nifty-looking postures I haven't done before that I want to try. So. In an effort to not bore myself to tears with a set routine (and also to make sure I can get everything in), I've divided my postures into little clusters that go together, and put them on cards. I've got five cards (+ one hazily labelled "meditate, damn you" -- I'm really bad at meditation) and I figure that each morning I'll pick two (maybe three, depends on time) and do those. Thusly, I have a kind of rotating mix-up of things, and I've broken down a rather daunting idea ("Serious Morning Yoga Session") into smaller, more manageable tasks ("Follow Instructions On Cute Little Index Cards"). Theoretically, I should be able to handle this. We'll see. The only part of this plan that I'm a little nervous about is the tracking. I suck at diary-keeping (ha!) and especially especially for paper ones. But I need to track timing (if nothing else) for this yoga project, and preferably some feedback on how I'm doing. But. New Year always brings with it...
1 - a mad desire to start projects
2 - a mad desire to start diaries
3 - the bizarre belief that I can keep both going

This whole syndrome is made worse by my increasingly intense desire to watch Bridget Jones. I'm seriously just going to buy myself the movie so whenever I have cravings, I can just watch the damn thing. I don't know how to explain it. It's so sappy, and pointless, really. It's just that... Hmm. I should really write a review for it, but I think what's behind the movie is that this total flake (I mean, Chan once said the great thing about Bridget is that everyone can feel superior to her) manages to get control over her "disastrous" life (she had a pretty nice apartment for a flake!) and so you get this kind of "if she can do it, I can!" thing going, but it's also a support thing. She's really nice. You can imagine her sympathizing with you through the pages of your diary when your life isn't clicking into place as easily as hers does. Right?

Maybe I watch too many movies.


Last book read:


( prev ++ 0 comment/s ++ next )



prev ++ next
(or "today"'s)



Last we checked,
lilephyte was...

...archived
...friendly
...factoidey
...profiled
...into notes



++ "recent" ++
Wednesday, January 21st, 2009
January 24th
December 17th
December 16th
November 14th


ResolutionWatch 2007
Photos (200): 130
Kitty Photos (30): 40
Scrapbook (20): 1
Books (just for fun): 16


+DiaryLand+

:)