l i l e p h y t e


December 28th, 20:28 | The requisite post-Christmas write-up

I am chock full of strudel. This Saturday, the parents (again) wanted to investigate furniture for the impending Move Into A Shoebox. More couches and shoe-cupboards (of all things) were looked at this time than beds. My dad and I came to a quiet agreement that we're never going to find a bed that I'm happy about replacing the current one with, so we'll just build mine. No problem. Ye gods, I hope the guy I marry's that handy with the construction stuff. I was actually thinking, way back when I first read the Harry Potter series, that I could so be Mrs. Weaseley. And being married to a Mr. Weaseley wouldn't be bad at all (mmm...red hair... mrrrowr!) -- all my life, my dad, my uncles, my friends, they've all been geeks, they've all been Tinkerers. It's important to me. I'm not even sure why. Just a comfort thing, I suppose. I don't need the glamorous pseudo jet-setting lifestyle, or the very yuppie trying-out of all the snazzy little restaurants downtown. I need a lot of movies, a comfy couch, a good relationship with the local tape rental place, and a guy who likes pottering around the house.

*Lilephyte re-reads her last paragraph, sighs, shaking her head, and, resigning herself to 21-year-old middle-age-dom, keeps going. All this while listening to Guttermouth.*

Right, so we looked at furniture. It was alright, but pretty draining. I love driving more than most people, but not inside the city. Not in the "well, we've got eight stores to visit, let's go!" way. I like road-trip driving. I like clear, open roads, preferably no traffic lights, even better if there's no cities around, and bonus if it's at night (although the scenery's generally better during the day). I love the convenience of being able to drive around the city, but it's energy-sapping as fuck.

Christmas was good. We had mah johng so people actually stayed the normal length of time. Spent a lot of time talking (about LOTR) with BoyCousin -- I'm shocked to find he's read the books -- and found he did actually read Ender's Game which I kinda thrust upon him (which is how I "suggest" he read anything). 'Twas fun. Because GirlCousin's dad wasn't there, my uncles were short a fourth for mah johng, and my dad played. This would have been fine, except that it meant that all of the responsibility of cooking the turkey ("Saruman" this year) fell to me. And, it was a damn good turkey. ^_^ So things were good. My stollen turned out well, and fun was had by all. Baking projects upcoming: panattone and gateau st. honor�. On the gift front, I think my mom spent a little too much time with RecentEx's mom while we were in Halifax because she bought me underwear. Which is cool, because it's really comfy! Just... there's no cartoons characters on it, and I'm so used to it. (Yes, I know I'm no longer 8 years old, shut up.) She also got me socks (yes! my parents do love me!) along with many useful girl things, and my dad got me camera gidgetry. PseudoBrother gifted me with (among other things) a Godzilla. I am happy.

Okay, I feel so materialistic now? Ew. In non-present related news, Housemate brought Butterscotch (I'd left him in Kingston) and now that he's been laundered and is all clean and fluffy and Tide-smelling, he can guard my clock again. Which is good. The clock looked naked without him. Hmm. Perhaps one day I'll take a picture of all my stuffed toys and introduce them. Or perhaps not. I think that would be reaching into levels of patheticness even I dare not lean towards.

Successfully cleaned off the desk and putting off moving The Impossible Puzzle onto the shiny new PuzzleBoard I just hacked up for it (complete with duct tape border!). I'll get around to it. Tomorrow's missions are to bake sugar cookies, get my hair streaked/highlighted (colour to be decided at hair-dressers), and come up with a schedule that will let me do yoga daily, preferably in the morning. Will our hero succeed? Tune in tomorrow to see that she probably hasn't posted the answer...


Last book read:


( prev ++ 0 comment/s ++ next )



prev ++ next
(or "today"'s)



Last we checked,
lilephyte was...

...archived
...friendly
...factoidey
...profiled
...into notes



++ "recent" ++
Wednesday, January 21st, 2009
January 24th
December 17th
December 16th
November 14th


ResolutionWatch 2007
Photos (200): 130
Kitty Photos (30): 40
Scrapbook (20): 1
Books (just for fun): 16


+DiaryLand+

:)