l i l e p h y t e


December 15th, 15:41 | Baking stollen : a cathartic experience?

Never let it be said that I'm emotionally detached. Whilst baking my trial stollen (I'll explain in a bit) I was listening to the Les Mis soundtrack (so sue me -- I'm a showtunes nerd, okay?) and I'm now thoroughly depressed (since I stopped listening after "Empty Chairs At Empty Tables", which for those who know the story but not the show, is when Marius is contemplating why all his friends are dead, but he's not, and right before he scampers off to marry that ho Cosette) and although one would think that I would thusly rush up to my machine and start cranking the happy ska-y tunes, I can't. I'm too depressed to listen to happy music. And all this from listening to a cd while kneading my dough. So now I'm sitting here, waiting for it to rise, while listening to sappy (and depressing) French pop in the form of Eric Lapointe. Hush up.

So if we combine this with the fact that I cry at (some!) movies, over books, and get seriously depressed over daydreams I'll make up in my head while I'm bored on the subway, it's not totally shocking to see me all mopey and sniffly because of a soundtrack. Still... it's kinda pathetic. So we're going to focus on something else now...

Like the stollen! Wednesday, my team at work is having a kind of open house thing for the people who call us all. We're doing a potluck thingy, and I'm bringing stollen. However, to ensure I don't poison anyone (since I've never made one before), I'm baking a practice one today.

Having a quiet day at home. I quite like it really. It's a little weird to be so calm, considering I don't even have gifts for my parents yet (!!!) but I am, and I'm enjoying it. I don't really get to do the calm thing as often as I'd like.

I really do need to get them something though. Blar.


Last book read:


( prev ++ 0 comment/s ++ next )



prev ++ next
(or "today"'s)



Last we checked,
lilephyte was...

...archived
...friendly
...factoidey
...profiled
...into notes



++ "recent" ++
Wednesday, January 21st, 2009
January 24th
December 17th
December 16th
November 14th


ResolutionWatch 2007
Photos (200): 130
Kitty Photos (30): 40
Scrapbook (20): 1
Books (just for fun): 16


+DiaryLand+

:)