l i l e p h y t e


October 31st, 17:17 | :: The Big Hit

Alright, in keeping with my attempt to keep myself writing, I'm going to review The Big Hit. This isn't a movie I've just seen recently, but I have seen it many, many a time. You might say it's one of my favourites.

So. Brief synopsis: a group of hitmen (organized hitmen) decide to make some money on the side by kidnapping and holding for ransom the daughter of a millionaire. However. Their boss happens to be the girl's godfather. Duh duh DUH! Action, cheesy romance, explosions, cartoon-esque characters, cute side-plots, and some pretty good fight scenes ensue. And explosions. Did I mention explosions?

I first saw this movie in theatres. I saw it twice, actually. (To be fair, it was because the first time I missed significant portions of the movie. Buuut, that'snothepointsomovingon, aaaaanyway...) It took a lot to convince me to go see it because I generally despise "stupid comedy", and this struck me as being just that. However, my boyfriend at the time was fairly tenacious, and I'm so glad he was!

So, what makes this movie great? Little snippets of dialogue. Okay, first I'm going to have to explain something about me; I love movies. I especially love movies with unrealistic dialogue when it's unrealistic in a way that makes it wittier, sharper, faster, funnier than it ever is in real life. It's for that reason that I love Kevin Smith. His characters talk about nothing (or in the case of Brodie, about comics) but still make the conversation snap and sizzle. That is what makes me love a movie. I hate chick flicks, but I love An Ideal Husband for the dialogue.

The Big Hit, while not what I would call razor reparte, is funny in that way. I guess what I'm saying is that it appeals to my sense of humour. The jokes that are maintained and built up throughout the story. The way each character, comic-style, is a little two-dimensional, but different from the others. The attention to detail. I guess that's what it all comes down to. Attention to detail.

Another thing I love about this movie is the fight sequences (oh and explosions). I like action movies. I love the look of well-choreographed fight scenes, and I'm all about nifty gadgets and explosions. XXX, for example, I really enjoyed. What I don't like about action movies is that generally the characters are one-sided and the dialogue is flat. Lack of story I can deal with. Lack of any interest apart from flashy special effects? No.

To sum up, it's a good movie. Just accept that. I'd give it 6.9 out of 9.


Last book read:


( prev ++ 0 comment/s ++ next )



prev ++ next
(or "today"'s)



Last we checked,
lilephyte was...

...archived
...friendly
...factoidey
...profiled
...into notes



++ "recent" ++
Wednesday, January 21st, 2009
January 24th
December 17th
December 16th
November 14th


ResolutionWatch 2007
Photos (200): 130
Kitty Photos (30): 40
Scrapbook (20): 1
Books (just for fun): 16


+DiaryLand+

:)